Ahmedabad: Elections to four Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat, along with 54 in 15 other states, will be held on 23 March.

The terms for Union finance minister Arun Jaitley; Mansukh Mandaviya, the Union minister of state for road transport and highways and for shipping; Parshottam Rupala, the Union minister of state for panchayati raj and agriculture; and Shankarbhai Vegad are scheduled to end on 4 April.

The last date for nominations is 12 March. Scrutiny of the applications will be done the day after, and the last date for withdrawal of forms candidature is 15 March.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president Amit Shah, Union information and broadcasting minister Smriti Irani and senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel were elected to India’s upper house of Parliament from Gujarat in the 2017 Rajya Sabha elections.