New Delhi: The 65th National Film Awards 2017 were announced today in which, veteran Hindi film actor late Vinod Khanna was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his contribution to Indian Cinema while late Sridevi got the award for the Best Actress award for her 2017 movie Mom. Gujarati film Dhh which starred prominent actor Naseeruddin Shah and directed by Manish Saini won the national award for best Gujarati language film. Rajkummar Rao’s Newton won Best Hindi Film award.

In the juries, the Feature Film Central panel was headed by Shekhar Kapur, an eminent filmmaker known for his works in Hindi cinema and international cinema. The Non- Feature Film panel was headed by Nakul Kamte and the jury on Best Cinema (writing) by Anant Vijay. The National Film Awards would be presented by President Ramnath Kovind on May 3, 2018.

Some of the other prominent winners in various categories for this year National Film Awards included Assamese movie Village Rockstars in Best Feature Film category and Baahubali - The Conclusion in the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment category. Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director was given to the Jasari language movie Sinjar directed by Pampally. Marathi Movie Dhappa was awarded the Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration.

 Malayalam Movie Aaalorukkam, directed by V.C.Abhilash was awarded the Best Film on Social Issues. Water Baby directed by Pia Shah, won the Best Debut Film of a Director in the Non-Feature Film category. Best Film Critic award was given to Giridhar Jha for his writings covering vast horizon of Hindi cinema with authenticity and originality. Special Mention Award was given to the Sunil Mishra for his articles on cinema. The best Children’s film was given to the Marathi Movie Mhorkya, directed by Amar Bharat Deokar. A.R Rahman was awarded the Best Music Direction award for the movie ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’.