New Delhi: E-Way Bill system for intra-State movement of goods will be implemented in seven more states and Union Territories starting Friday. The states are Maharashtra, Manipur, Chandigarh, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Lakshadweep.

With this, the number of states, where the system is being implemented, will go up to 27. As per the decision of the GST (Goods and Service Tax) Council, e-Way Bill system has been rolled out from April 1 this year. According to an official release, as on May 23, 2018, the e-Way Bill system has been rolled out in 20 States including Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh.

E-Way Bills are getting generated successfully and over five crores thirty lakh Bills were successfully generated as on May 23, 2018, which includes more than one crore sixty lakh e-Way Bills for intra-State movement of goods.